2023 Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class Safety and Reliability

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class Reliability Rating

2023 CLS-Class Safety

The IIHS has not reviewed a Mercedes CLS, but in the last review of the E-Class sedan, on which the CLS is based, it performed brilliantly. In all six crashworthiness categories, the E-class scored Good - the highest rating - and bagged a 2022 Top Safety Pick+ award. The CLS is also not rated by the NHTSA, but both the 2023 E-Class RWD and 4Matic received the maximum five-star rating.

US NHTSA Crash Test Result

NHTSA safety ratings are not available at this time.

2023 CLS-Class Key Safety Features

Standard safety equipment on the CLS includes a backup camera, electronic stability control, attention assist, crosswind assist, Mercedes' Pre-Safe system, blind-spot assist, seven airbags, adaptive braking with Active Brake Assist, rain-sensing wipers, automatic high beams, Car-to-X communication, and SmartKey with keyless go. Adding the optional Driver Assistance Package for $1,950 adds, among others, radar cruise control, both active and evasive steering assist, active emergency stop, active speed-limit assist, active blind-spot assist, active lane-keeping assist, and active lane-change assist. The CLS can also be had with an extended restart feature for stop-and-go traffic, route-based speed control, and the full Pre-Safe suite.

Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class TrimsCLS 450 4MATIC
Back-Up CameraO
Cross-Traffic AlertN/A
Rear Parking AidN/A
Blind Spot MonitorO
Lane Departure WarningO
Lane Keeping AssistO
Night VisionN/A
Tire Pressure MonitorS
Brake AssistS
Stability ControlS
Traction ControlS

2023 CLS-Class Reliability

In common with many other Mercedes models, there have been several recalls on the CLS over the last few years. The 2023 model has been recalled once - for a loss of drive power from a fuel pump shutdown. This was a rollover issue from 2022, which had four other recalls. J.D. Power has not rated any CLS in recent years, but the E-Class's rating should give a good indication, seeing that the two share their underpinnings. The E-Class is rated a middling 77 out of 100 overall by JD Power, with 81 for quality and reliability. The standard warranty on the CLS is for four years or 50,000 miles. Extensions can be bought at extra cost for up to 100,000 miles.


  • Basic:
    4 Years \ 50,000 Miles
  • Drivetrain:
    4 Years \ 50,000 Miles
  • Corrosion:
    4 Years \ 50,000 Miles
  • Roadside Assistance:
    4 Years \ 50,000 Miles
To Top