Safety Technology

2012 Chevy Camaro First Car to Pass All NHTSA Safety Tests

The Chevrolet Camaro scores perfect marks in NHTSA’s latest round of testing.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has awarded the 2012 Camaro a perfect score in its safety testing: the first vehicle to do so since federal testing procedures were revised in 2011. Safety is not the first attribute to come to mind when we think about the mighty pony car; horsepower and sprint times are what normally interests us. Yet the Camaro has become the first car to score a perfect five-star rating in all the six test categories, which is worth noting.

The tests included frontal barrier crash test ratings for driver & passenger, side crash ratings for the driver & passenger, rollover rating, and the car's overall rating. When the current generation Camaro was launched it received a measly four-star rating, so there's clearly been a determined effort on behalf of Chevy to improve its performance in the NHTSA's tests, which is commendable. Of the 46 2012MY vehicles to complete the test, only 14 have received a 5-star Safety Rating, including the Honda Accord and Kia Optima, so hat's off to Chevy for its flawless performance.

Latest News

Chevrolet Camaro Coupe
Starting MSRP