Popular Tags Cars

Mercedes Brings New AMG 53 Models To Detroit

Reveal / 36 Comments

AMG versions of the CLS, E-Class Coupe and E-Class Cabriolet will all have a 53 badge.

We've been hearing for a while now that Mercedes would introduce a new range of AMG 53 models into its ever-growing range of AMG cars. Today, at the 2018 Detroit Auto Show, Mercedes-AMG finally revealed three 53-badged cars: the CLS Coupe, E-Class Coupe and E-Class Cabriolet. At the heart of these models lies a 3.0-liter turbocharged inline-six with an electric auxiliary compressor. Output is 429 hp and torque is 384 lb-ft, but the system can temporarily be given even more power.

The EQ Boost starter is able to provide 21 hp of output plus 184 lb-ft of torque. All 53 models will send power to a fully-variable all-wheel-drive system through a nine-speed automatic transmission. Mercedes quotes 0-60 times of 4.3 seconds for the E53 Coupe, and 4.4 seconds for the CLS53 and E 53 Cabriolet. The top speed of all three cars is 130 mph, which seems a bit low for fully-fledged AMG models. Mercedes says that this drivetrain will be extremely smooth and without lag thanks to the 48V electrical system that will pave the way for further hybridization. The 53 models are also stylistically differentiated from other AMG models.

You Might Also Like
Greatest Mitsubishi Cars Of All Time
Greatest Mitsubishi Cars Of All Time
Stunning Motorhomes With Built-In Garages
Stunning Motorhomes With Built-In Garages

All three models receive a twin-blade radiator grille in silver chrome with a black lattice pattern behind it. On the inside, Mercedes gave these cars a sporty flavor without ruining their luxury appeal. All three cars use dual 12.3-inch screens that sit under a single piece of glass to create what Mercedes calls a "Widescreen Cockpit." The driver can fully customize these screens and switch between "Classic," "Sporty" and "Progressive" layouts. There is also an AMG screen, which shows engine and transmission oil temperature, lateral and longitudinal acceleration, engine output and torque, boost, tire temperatures and the current vehicle set-up.

Drivers can also choose from five Dynamic Select drive modes, including Eco, Comfort, Sport, Sport+ and Individual. There is also a M mode (not to be confused with BMW's M Mode) that forces the transmission to shift manually. The theme of sportiness and luxury continues with the suspension, which is an AMG Ride Control air suspension system with adaptive dampening. This system has three modes, Comfort, Sport and Sport+ that change the characteristic of the ride. Almost everything in these cars is customizable, including the steering, which has comfort and sport modes. These cars also borrow the excellent driver assist technology from the flagship S-Class.

Mercedes says that the 53-series models will be available in the US in late 2018. The first models to arrive will be Edition 1 models, which come with unique interior treatments, numerous details in a copper color, and black nappa leather with copper contrasting stitching. Pricing has not been announced, but these will certainly be the range-topping models for the CLS, E-Class Coupe and E-Class Cabriolet.