New Jersey residents and politicians are sick of "boom cars."
The New Jersey Assembly Law and Public Safety Committee recently approved a bill that allows for fines for loud cars.
We've seen the bill, and it references snowmobiles, all-terrain vehicles, dirt bikes, and an overall category called "nuisance motor vehicles." The bill was approved unanimously by everyone in attendance, according to the New Jersey Monitor.
"Vehicles ride through the neighborhoods at three or four in the morning, and the music is so loud that it literally makes your windows shake," said Assemblyman Bill Spearman, the prime sponsor of the bill and chair of the committee mentioned above.
Spearman said the problem was brought to his attention by the mayors of Camden, Pennsauken, and Delran. He then found a similar bill passed in Philadelphia to rid roads of so-called "boom cars."
The good news is that the new bill is less harsh than the first version. It was initially based on a bill allowing authorities to seize dirt bikes and ATVs on public roads. The amended bill does not allow coppers to claim your car, but they can give you a fine.
A first transgression will cost you $250, while the second offense will double that amount. The third time you get nabbed for playing dreadful dubstep, trap, 30 Seconds to Mars, or WAP, the fine increases to $750. Nobody dare say anything about Nickelback. They are a national treasure.
While Spearman mentions loud music, the bill is not just aimed at inconsiderate drivers who expose the world to loud music at an inconvenient time.
The penalties apply to all cars that violate state and local noise legislation. The state legislation prohibits a vehicle from being louder than 50 decibels from 10:00 pm to 7:00 am and 65 decibels during daytime hours. A Hyundai Elantra N can easily hit 98 decibels in the full-blown N-Mode, which will get you caught during the day and night. We know this because a California police officer banned a stock Elantra N from the road last year.
New Jersey is more forgiving, however. "We're not going to take somebody's $60,000 car because they're playing the music too loud," said Spearman. We're guessing the same applies to performance cars that emit aurally pleasing pops and bangs when shifting enthusiastically in sport mode.
New Jersey's Noise Control Act also has clear noise level restrictions and the laws are not as draconian as they are in Cali. The burden of proof falls on the state, so unless they have a sound level meter with a confirmed readout, you'll likely get off with a warning.
In short, you should be fine if you don't act like an asshole at 3:00 am.
Join The Discussion